Full disclosure first- I am a Wegman’s employee. I am brand new to Wegmans and just started my training 3 weeks ago in Penfield. But as of Sunday, the Grand Opening, you can find me in the Nature’s Marketplace on East Avenue. I am also a Wegman’s East Avenue Customer. I live only .9 miles away and sorely missed the neighborhood store while it was closed for 3 months. I am thrilled that the store is now open and I’m sure you are too, so here’s what you need to know about gluten-free at East Avenue, FAQ style.
Where are the gluten-free products?
I am sure for those of you who are also East Ave customers, you remember the small gluten-free section that was tucked behind the pharmacy, around the corner from the cheese. The new gluten-free section still resides behind the pharmacy, but further away from the cheese, and has expanded significantly with dedicated freezers that are clearly labeled gluten-free.
In fact, the Nature’s Marketplace department is actually meant to be a gluten-free destination. The other Nature’s products are integrated into the rest of the store. For example, organic Wegmans peanut butter is with Jif peanut butter, Kashi cereal with Kellogg’s. You will find all of your gluten-free favorites there, with some exceptions. Gluten-free beer is in the beer section and the Wegmans products that are gluten-free like ketchup, tortilla chips, or Greek yogurt are integrated into regular grocery aisles.
How do I know if a product is gluten-free?
Like in other stores, Wegmans labels their gluten-free products with a large “G.” To call attention to some products that are gluten-free, there can also be a gluten-free label affixed to the price tag. You can also always check out the Wegmans “Living Gluten -Free” webpage and ask for the gluten-free brochures from an employee. Remember that the label “no gluten ingredients” means that the product (usually prepared foods) isn’t made with gluten-containing ingredients but it could come into contact with gluten in its preparation.
What new products does East Avenue carry?
East Avenue is joining Pittsford as the second test store for the Wegmans brand freshly baked gluten-free products. Right now, you can get the multi-grain bread, frosted brownies, snickerdoodles, and chocolate chip cookies at East Avenue. You can read my review of these products here. East Avenue also now carries both varieties of Omission Beer, which is made from malted barley, but the gluten is removed in the brewing process. Even though each batch is tested to make sure it contains less than 20 ppm of gluten, it cannot state that it is gluten-free and therefore Wegmans cannot either. Another exciting new addition is Silvana’s Arize frozen pizza crusts. Arize is a spin-off company of Nick’s Deli and Pizza in Chili. It is my belief that their gluten-free frozen crust is the best available here in Rochester. The last new product I’ll mention is truly local- the owner lives in the Park Avenue neighborhood! It is Muesli Fusion Pure Morning Zen Muesli. This gluten-free muesli can be enjoyed hot or cold.
What if I can’t find my favorite gluten-free product?
If the products is definitely not available int he store and you would like to see it there, call 1-800-Wegmans or leave a comment at the Customer Service desk.
Hope to see you there!